valencia / what happens in vegas, stays in vegas

In one single second, consciousness took hold of me and brought me back to earth. I don’t even know what it was that brought me back. Vibrations. An angry buzzing. My cell phone. I couldn’t find it. Where was it? Somewhere outside of me. I could feel it. It clattered against the floor, knocking itself into a cacophony of insistence. Was it the floor? Was I lying on the floor? No.

“Stop,” I muttered, as if I could will the thing to stop with just a simple command. I didn’t want to open my eyes. It didn’t stop. I forced myself to move. Something moved beside me. Someone groaned. I lifted my head and opened my eyes.

Darcy. She was lying in the bed next to me wearing nothing but a lacy black thong. To the right of her, was a naked black man with a ridiculous amount of morning wood. I looked down at myself. I was still dressed. Had I crawled into bed with them? What had happened?

Fucking Las Vegas.

I turned and reached for my cell phone. It was on the floor beside the bed. Last night’s alcohol consumption surged straight to my skull and pounded mercilessly. I groaned in misery as I tried to turn off the alarm on my cell phone and tried to figure out what it was for.

KAREN, it said.

“What? Karen…. shit,” I sighed, having no recollection as to why I would set an alarm named after a girl that I’d just met barely twelve hours earlier. And if Darcy was with me… where was Sophie? I looked around the room. It didn’t belong to us. It wasn’t our room.

Somehow, I managed to stumble from the bed to the door. I didn’t have my shoes. What the fuck?

My phone started vibrating again as I reached for the door of the hotel suite. The Karen alarm.

“Yeah, I get it,” I grumbled as I silenced it. But I looked again. This wasn’t my phone. I glanced back to the bed. Darcy had shifted and was now draped over her black lover whose erection was growing steadily larger. I didn’t think it was possible. I had to get out of here before I witnessed something that I didn’t need to see. I threw her phone into the sheets of the bed just as the black man roused. My head pounded angrily as I navigated my way back to the room that I’d shared with the three other girls. I reached into my bra and pulled out the key card. At least we were still on the same floor of the hotel.

I opened the door and stumbled inside, hoping Karen and/or Sophie would be fast asleep in one of the double beds. But what I found waiting for me was not what I had expected at all. Now, remembering the night before and finding Karen and Sophie were the least of my worries. This was bad. Really bad.

One response to “valencia / what happens in vegas, stays in vegas

Leave a Reply

